Marc  Agronin, MD

Marc Agronin, MD

A 2011 feature article in the New York Times described Marc Agronin, MD as "a rare breed even in Florida, which has the highest proportion of people older than 65." This award-winning doctor and author is one of only 17 board-certified geriatric psychiatrists in all of Florida. The wealth of knowledge and experience is recorded in his acclaimed book "How We Age: A Doctor's Journey into the Heart of Growing Old," a book that the Economist magazine praised as optimistic, heartwarming and even mystical. Dr. Agronin's work has been featured on numerous shows including NBC's Today Show and National Public Radio's "Talk of the Nation. Dr. Agronin brings his warmth, wisdom and sense of humanity to his talks on what it means to grow old and how we all have unimaginable potential not in spite of age, but because of it.

Fee: Call For Quote

BIOGRAPHY

Marc E. Agronin, MD is a board-certified adult and geriatric psychiatrist who has served since 1999 as the Medical Director for Mental Health and Clinical Research at the Miami Jewish Health Systems (MJHS), Florida's largest long-term care institution. He is also an Affiliate Associate Professor of Psychiatry and Neurology at the University of Miami Miller School of Medicine. He is a graduate of Harvard University with a degree in psychology and philosophy summa cum laude, and received his medical degree from the Yale School of Medicine. Dr. Agronin trained in psychiatry at Harvard Medical School (McLean Hospital and Massachusetts General Hospital) and later completed a fellowship in geriatric psychiatry at the VA Medical Center in Minneapolis, MN.

Dr. Agronin is a nationally recognized expert in psychiatric illnesses in the elderly, and in 2008 was named the "Clinician of the Year" by the American Association for Geriatric Psychiatry, awarded annually to one of its members who has demonstrated a "profound commitment to the field of clinical geriatric psychiatry by providing, promoting and assuring access to quality mental health care for older adults." In 2011, Dr. Agronin was elected as a Distinguished Fellow of the American Psychiatric Association - the highest honor conferred to its members.

In addition to his new book entitled How We Age: A Doctor's Journey into the Heart of Growing Old, he has published articles in the New York Times and Scientific American Mind. He has also authored several books including Therapy with Older Clients: Key Strategies for Success (2010), Alzheimer Disease and Other Dementias: A Practical Guide, 2nd Edition (2008), and is the co-editor of the textbook Principles and Practice of Geriatric Psychiatry (2006). He has published chapters on psychiatric illness in most major psychiatry textbooks, including a chapter on sexuality co-authored with the noted TV and radio personality Dr. Ruth Westheimer.

Programs

How We Age: A Doctor's Journey Into The Heart of Growing Old
A young doctor's reflections on his experiences as a nursing-home psychiatrist—and the remarkable stories of vitality, connection, and growth that transformed his view of aging

A review of his book How We Age said, In the tradition of Atul Gawande and Sherwin Nuland, Marc Agronin writes luminously and unforgettably of life as he sees it as a doctor. His beat is a nursing home in Miami that some would dismiss as "God's waiting room." Nothing in the young doctor's medical training had quite prepared him for what he was to discover there. As Agronin first learned from ninety-eight-year-old Esther and then from countless others, the true scales of aging aren't one-sided—you can't list the problems of aging without also tallying the hopes and promises. Drawing on moving personal experiences and on in-depth interviews with pioneers in the field, Agronin conjures a spellbinding look at what aging means today—how our bodies and brains age, and the very way we look at aging.

Your Health: How We Age

Memory Changes As We Grow Older: What's Normal? What's Not?
Not every memory lapse means someone is developing Alzheimer's disease. This dynamic 45 - 75 minute lecture explores the way memory works, how it changes with age, and what we can do about improving our memories. The talk incorporates fun exercises and audience participation.

Videos

Support Materials

No additional materials are available for this speaker.

    "Our audience absolutely loved Dr. Marc Agronin's engaging presentation on aging. His expertise on the topic was clearly apparent with his vivid tales and extensive research. He actually made our audience feel that perhaps the aging process wasn't all that bad after all."

    Jewish Community Center, Cherry Hill, NJ

    Dr. Agronin's talk validates many positives about aging. His humor and extraordinary understanding of human nature is evident when he relates his experiences with his patients. It's not often a speaker has me repeating his stories and celebrating the many attributes of aging. Dr, Agronin is a role model and leader for our aging society. The medical world, the senior population and everyone needs to pay attention to the common sense and wisdom of Dr. Agronin. Dr. Agronin began his talk with a wonderful true anecdote about one of his elderly patients. There was a "surprise" ending which really hooked me in to listen carefully to everything else he had to say.

    Jewish Community Center of Greater Buffalo

    "His presentation of neuroscience and the brain was intriguing. Dr. Agronin is able to speak about the challenges of caring with individuals with dementia he he also speaks to the upside of aging - resilience, wisdom, creativity, emotional maturity and hope. He is a pioneer for understanding aging."

    EMPACT-Suicide Prevention Center



Back To Top